New board members Zugibe and PitruzzellaGarnerville resident Peggy Zugibe was elected President of the Rockland BOCES Board of Education during its annual reorganization meeting held on July 12 in West Nyack.

Mrs. Zugibe represents the Haverstraw-Stony Point Central School District Board of Education and has been a member of the Rockland BOCES Board of Education since 2008. She has been a member of the Haverstraw-Stony Point Board of Education since 1993 and is treasurer of the Rockland County School Boards Association.

President Zugibe also serves as the Area 10 Director of the New York State School Boards Association, representing boards in Rockland, Westchester and Putnam counties.

Rounding out the Board’s leadership team are Vice President Rosemary Pitruzzella, representing the South Orangetown Central School District and District Clerk Erin Sussman.

Dr. Charlene Jordan is sworn in.Edward Dingman (Nanuet) and Deborah P. Gatti (Member-at-Large) were sworn in to serve three-year terms. Dr. Charlene Jordan was also sworn in as Rockland BOCES District Superintendent during the reorganization meeting.

Each Board of Cooperative Educational Services is governed by a board of education made up of representatives from component school districts. The nine members of the Rockland Board of Cooperative Educational Services serve unpaid, three-year terms and are elected by component boards of education.